Fridays with Frost

For Once, Then, Something

Others taught me with having knelt at well-curbs
Always wrong to the light, so never seeing
Deeper down in the well than where the water
Gives me back in a shining surface picture
Me myself in the summer heaven godlike
Looking out of a wreath of fern and cloud puffs.
Once, when trying with chin against a well-curb,
I discerned, as I thought, beyond the picture,
Through the picture, a something white, uncertain,
Something more of the depths–and then I lost it.
Water came to rebuke the too clear water.
One drop fell from a fern, and lo, a ripple
Shook whatever it was lay there at bottom,
Blurred it, blotted it out. What was that whiteness?
Truth? A pebble of quartz? For once, then, something. 

Robert Frost

 

There is a certain ambiguity and elusiveness in this piece that fits my current mood.

A tragedy has occurred in my life that I feel very uncertain about how to deal with it. My oldest step-daughter, Erin, was 21 weeks into her pregnancy when she went into labor. Mason was stillborn. As tragic as this is, it seems doubly so for her. 3 years ago this month her first son was born at 28 weeks and lived for only 45 minutes. Erin has been a part of my family since she was 9 (she’s 23 now) and it’s just so hard to see her go through this.

I’m not looking for sympathy, only wondering what we can do to help her through this. It’s so hard to watch her have to bury another baby. The funeral is tomorrow and I just feel numb.

6 responses to “Fridays with Frost

  1. That is tough for a young woman, I am sure. It helps having a good stepmother. Coincidentally, we are also going to a funeral tomorrow, for an acquaintance who died much too young. I know it will get better, but it will take time. Take care of yourself–and Erin.

    • Thank you. We are definitely keeping an eye on Erin, but bless her heart, she is doing better than I had thought she would. The service was brief, but appropriate and now it’s time to try and heal. I’m sorry to hear about your acquaintance, but I suppose it only serves to remind us that every day is precious. Also “seeing” you reminds me that I still have my Tuesday hike with some of the kiddos to look forward to this week. 🙂

  2. There should be I am sorry button to hit as hitting ‘like’ is not right in this circumstance. My feelings are with you and Erin. She has suffered such tragedy with losing two babies… words do not convey the sadness I felt on reading this… *hugs* Kyred to you and your family. xx

    • Thank you. It has been really tough for Erin, but she is doing better than I thought she might. So I am grateful for that at least.

  3. Ahh … I am late in seeing this. It is heartbreaking news indeed. I see that the funeral was several days ago past.

    I suspect the only thing you can do in situations like this is to let her know you love her and that you are there for her.

    Again, I am sorry to hear of this.

    • Thank you. We managed to get through and she is doing okay. I worry though she’s a very emotional young lady and I know that she’s been through a lot.