Boston and Two Wolves

Most of us know this story, but I’d like to post it just the same. In light of recent events in Boston and the media and public response, I feel that it applies to the aftermath.

A Cherokee Legend

An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy.

“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

There is another version of this story here. Cherokee Legend.

I very deliberately try not to be political on most occasions, but in the past year a number of tragic events have occurred and what I often see is the first response of offers of support and comfort. This I love. This is the part of human nature that is most beautiful and amazing. Yet in the aftermath, what I see most (and maybe it’s only that these are the active voices at the moment) is a lot of speech which is violent and terrifying in its nature. Anger begets anger.

I am not judging or criticizing. I would not take away an individual’s right to have these feelings or to express them. I only hope that people are being careful with how they express their feelings. We cannot make another person be/do/think/feel what we want, but our words and actions do affect others.

I would not propose to tell you what to do, but rather I would pose the question, “Which wolf will you feed?”

My thoughts and prayers are with all the victims of this tragic situation, and I hope for a swift resolution to answer the many questions that it has brought about. I also hope that the world can move forward without doing any further harm.

2 responses to “Boston and Two Wolves

  1. Indeed Kyred – fuelling the fire with words only exacerbates the problems. Good Post. x

  2. I love that story. Tis amazing how knowledge can be passed this way. How we can teach … and let people learn from their own hearts this way.

    That is a truely wondeful lesson … I hope we learn the right one.