Fridays With Frost

Dust of Snow

The way a crow
Shook down on me
The dust of snow
From a hemlock tree

Has given my heart
A change of mood
And saved some part 
Of a day I had rued. 

Robert Frost

4 responses to “Fridays With Frost

  1. Jumping up and down with excitement finally one of Roberts that I truly can understand without having to read several times over. 🙂 Regretting the day he foresaw by being reminded of beauty in nature and life, simply by the falling of the snow. Thanks Kyred.

  2. *smiles* … I agree with Mumsy ….

    I like this one … for some reason, it makes me look outside my window and think …it is a cloudy day … but it really is not so bad ..

    (Oh…the other day I had a rather long discussion with a co-worker about Frost’s “Road Not Taken”. The other person was of the opinion that the poem was saying you’d be better off taking the road less travelled. I of course, was saying how I thought it was not so much that, as a regret about not having the ability to take both roads … and that in a way, one could see it as a poem of regret.)

    • I agree…both with “it’s really not so bad,” and “regret about not having the ability to take both roads.” While I believe the message is about the road less traveled, the author’s feelings seem to show through and give him away. Just my two cents worth.