Fridays With Frost

Carpe Diem

Age saw two quiet children 
Go loving by at twilight, 
He knew not whether homeward, 
Or outward from the village, 
Or (chimes were ringing) churchward, 
He waited, (they were strangers) 
Till they were out of hearing 
To bid them both be happy. 
‘Be happy, happy, happy, 
And seize the day of pleasure.’ 
The age-long theme is Age’s. 
‘Twas Age imposed on poems 
Their gather-roses burden 
To warn against the danger 
That overtaken lovers 
From being overflooded 
With happiness should have it. 
And yet not know they have it. 
But bid life seize the present? 
It lives less in the present 
Than in the future always, 
And less in both together 
Than in the past. The present 
Is too much for the senses, 
Too crowding, too confusing- 
Too present to imagine. 

Robert Frost

3 responses to “Fridays With Frost

  1. I enjoyed but had a bit of trouble trying to decipher Roberts meaning on this one… however I enjoy nonetheless – thank you hun. xx

    • LOL. I’m afraid that I can’t help any, as I would have to admit that I didn’t even read this one…yet. 🙂

  2. I believe he is talking of just taking the day … you will not know it…you will not know how grand it might be as you seize it….but it does not matter…but to do it *smiles* ….that is what I read anyway.

    As I read, I can imagine a thespian saying these words to an unseen audience … With happiness should have it. And yet not know they have it. But bid life seize the present?