Fridays with Frost #13

A Time to Talk

When a friend calls to me from the road 
And slows his horse to a meaning walk, 
I don’t stand still and look around 
On all the hills I haven’t hoed, 
And shout from where I am, What is it? 
No, not as there is a time to talk. 
I thrust my hoe in the mellow ground, 
Blade-end up and five feet tall, 
And plod: I go up to the stone wall 
For a friendly visit. 

Robert Frost

 

I had never read this one before. It may not be Frost’s most poetic work, but I do like the message here. I know for certain that my husband (who never met a stranger) would agree. 🙂

001

5 responses to “Fridays with Frost #13

  1. I LOVED this one nod nod nods.

    Always has to make time for friends *smiles*.

    That photo…your husband is in it?

    • Yep. Hubby is on the right, his dad is in the middle and on the left is his cousin. They are a very social group, and they all love to entertain. Family gatherings with his family are always fun.

  2. Lovely – and how wonderful to have that family unity of playing music together.

    • You should see them out camping. Once dinner is over the guys get out the guitars and settle around the campfire. Before you know it, half the camp has wandered by to visit. 🙂