Fridays with Frost #12

First I would like to say, I have been off the beaten path for a few weeks and I have missed you all. I am still catching up on blogs that I read. I hope to catch up with you all soon.

Meanwhile, I have my next installment of Frost at the ready. Today’s  addition seemed appropriate given the recent Veteran’s Day.

A Soldier

He is that fallen lance that lies as hurled,
That lies unlifted now, come dew, come rust,
But still lies pointed as it plowed the dust.
If we who sight along it round the world,
See nothing worthy to have been its mark,
It is because like men we look too near,
Forgetting that as fitted to the sphere,
Our missiles always make too short an arc.
They fall, they rip the grass, they intersect
The curve of earth, and striking, break their own;
They make us cringe for metal-point on stone.
But this we know, the obstacle that checked
And tripped the body, shot the spirit on
Further than target ever showed or shone. 

Robert Frost

7 responses to “Fridays with Frost #12

  1. That is wonderful. I’d never read it before. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Thought you had vanished for a wee while welcome back Kyred and thank you sharing Frost with us once again.

    • It was only a couple of weeks since I was last on, but it feels like forever. You know how that goes. 😉

  3. I have to read and think on this a bit more .. then I will come back and respond again … but I did want to say …hi hi *smiles* …

    And I liked your intro to this … “I have been off the beaten path for a few weeks …” Very apt for your Fridays with blog posts. Yah and gives you a *hug*

    • Hi! *waves* good to see you. Yep, this one is a thinker, I had to read it a few times. Hope you enjoy it.

      • Ahhh … this is one that I have pondered over a bit now. Not sure I agree .. but that is because I am not sure I understand.

        Is this about … our aims when we go to war? How we fight for the wrong reasons? or not see the true reasons? I see both arguments here … I think.