When Did I Get Old?

I’m not even that old, but the body just doesn’t work like it used to. Here I sit after my regular 4 mile walk, icing down my ankle because it was already starting to hurt. I sprained it two and a half years ago, and now it requires special care. I hike four miles twice a week on a paved path with a friend. My ankle is always fine when I walk, it’s later when I sit down for a while and then try to get up again that it bothers me. My heel and ankle both hurt. After our walk last Thursday, it was a little tender when I went to bed, but when I got up in the morning I couldn’t hardly put any weight on it. It took a good two hours for the muscles to loosen up enough that I wasn’t limping anymore. Sigh. It really isn’t the worst thing, it is always fine after a bit of walking around, but it just sucks to know that there isn’t anything I can do to change it. Ice and ibuprofen, some stretching too, that’s all the advice I get. That’s great when it gets to hurting, but why isn’t there something I can do to make it go away forever? Why does getting older mean that some things never really heal and having to lose my valuable time to ice and ibuprofen?

Well, I suppose in any case that I can say I had a good time. I love these walks with my friend. She’s great company and the four miles goes by almost too fast now.

I’m off to work on my novel from camp so that I can finish and get back to my other novel. Here’s hoping that I can get finished with that soon too since there’s another idea already brewing. Sometimes I can’t keep up with myself, too many things floating around in my head.

If anyone has any great advice, please leave it. I’m open-minded.

9 responses to “When Did I Get Old?

  1. Wish I had great advice. I too have nagging aches from old injuries, but I basically find that the more active I am, the better I feel. Good luck with the ankle and with the novel.

  2. Thanks for stopping by even if you don’t have any great advice. It’s really not so bad, it just sucks because I can still remember being unphased by injuries in my twenties. I could have broken a bone then and it would have healed in like three days (yes, deliberate exaggeration, but you get the idea).

  3. my orthopod says heat is what helps heal because it increases the blood flow. makes sense… keeps it supple. compression is good too, helps keep the joint from overextending / overexerting. wear a brace and use the heat; try anti-inflammatories too (motrin: up to 600mg 3x/day) for a week should help bring down inflammation. it sucks to get old, but the little extra TLC is deserved by this time in our lives. try to indulge on yourself. 🙂 hope you feel better soon! -m

    • Thanks for stopping by and I appreciate the advice. I’ll give it a try. Certainly heat increasing blood flow makes sense and because my job is so physically demanding anything that helps healing is worth trying.

  4. Hello – I chuckled when I read this piece Kyred, no malice intended but I understand where you are coming from totally! I am 57 years young and even though I treadmill every day, I have aches & pains that never existed in my ‘younger years’. Are you taking anything apart from Ibuprofen? Old injuries sadly lead to arthritis and though I am far from a health nut, I have started taking 100mg of Aspirin a day and it works! I also take Krill tabs once a day. Bruises remain for longer, wounds take longer to heal and scars take forever to disappear. This may help you…can only try? 🙂

    • It’s worth a chuckle. It’s so funny how I don’t really feel old until I realize that my body is falling apart. I’m only 42! Thanks for the advice, I hadn’t thought of Krill tabs, I’ll have to check that out. I think a lot of folks forget about Aspirin, but it is still pretty good stuff.

  5. Sorry to hear that, I know the feeling well, growing older certainly isn’t much fun if you have a recurring injury. My back is my problem and like you I’m only in my 40’s. I usually find that as the day goes on it relaxes itself, sadly it seems the only way forward is gentle exercise, a pain killer when it’s bad, keeping busy and laughing a lot! It’s great to hear that you are doing so well with your writing and the ideas just keep flowing. I can’t seem to get anything together, it takes all my time to write a post sometimes!

    • Thanks for sharing. It is a bit of a problem to feel so young and so old all at the same time. I hear you on the writing. I am being very productive right now, if only because I seem to be in the zone. I’m trying to take advantage. I guess that’s the best any of us can hope for.

  6. I know the feeling. :). I have found the stretching & muscle strenghtening of yoga great … Helps unbelievably with flexibility.