Death and Gardening

Okay, not everything is dead, but so much is not doing well thanks to the recent 100+ degree temperatures this week. The tomatoes have slowed growth and the lower leaves are turning yellow. The strawberries are going one plant at a time, and no new strawberries. Even though they flowered, it just got too hot and none of the strawberries grew. The watermelon plants are still alive, but also looking stunted. The sweet peas have also stopped growing and are turning yellow. Even my cherry trees which have done really well are looking wilty.

I’ve continued watering, but I just can’t seem to get enough water to support these poor little plants in this heat. So imagine how excited I was when the sky clouded over. The wind began to pick up and I could see lightening in the distance. That started two hours ago. Grrr…still no rain. I’m hopeful, the weather is reporting that the rain hasn’t all passed, but I guess we’ll see.

I’m so jealous of the all those people just a few miles away who actually got rain.

Blah!

Meanwhile, I’m waiting patiently for my mystery crochet message. I joined a group that emails a pattern link and you have 30 days to complete the project. Fun!! Also it will keep me from jumping the gun on the Ravellenic Games that I can’t wait to get started on July 27…oh, and Camp NaNo starts August 1. August will be very busy. =)

 

2 responses to “Death and Gardening

  1. It’s really dry here in Northeastern Wisconsin, too. In fact, I just got done watering. I’ll pray for rain for you if you do the same for me!

  2. It’s a deal! Best of luck.