Fridays with Frost – 6/29/12

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

…The woods are lovely, dark, and deep,                    But I have promises to keep,                                        And miles to go before I sleep,                                      And miles to go before I sleep.

Robert Frost

Robert Frost has been listed among my favorite poets for as long as I can remember.  I won’t get into the meaning behind this particular piece (I’ve heard many interesting theories on that), but I just came across this and thought I’d share. The above is just the last stanza, if you are not familiar with this poem I would urge that you find it and read the full version.

I read this poem first when I was about 12, and I fell in love with Frost. I couldn’t tell you why, I’m certain I didn’t even fully understand it, but it struck a note for me. I suppose that’s the greatest thing about youth, sometimes understanding is overrated. Sometimes just the feeling is enough. A beautiful talent indeed.

Comments are closed.