Daily Archives: April 29, 2012

Sad Saplings

Last week I planted a dozen Sweet Pea seeds in Jiffy pots (the little mini greenhouse). Now I’m no great gardener, but I usually have pretty good luck with starting the seeds. Not so much this time. I have one little sapling that poked out of the dirt Thursday. Then this morning it appears that a second one is struggling to come up.

Now, I’ve never grown sweet peas before, but I was led to believe that these would be easy flowers to start and wouldn’t need to be started indoors. I only started them indoors because the weather has been so crazy and I was concerned about a late frost. With only two saplings I guess I’ll have to start again. I don’t really need a lot of them, but I usually lose a few in the hardening off or transplanting phase and I wanted at least 4 plants. 😉 I’m really not a great gardener, but I’m working on it.

Any advice would be welcome. I’m quite excited about doing a little gardening and landscaping this year in my new home.

How does your garden grow?

Funny story, I started to post this yesterday. Somehow, while I was typing, kitty managed to get the internet unplugged and I had to back it up to Word. The funny part is how long it took me to realize that my internet was out because the modem was not plugged in. Meanwhile, I now have a third sprout. Yay!!!

