Baked Italian Casserole

When my kids were little, I always called it Lasagna. At least one of my kids will only eat my “Lasagna”. Funny though, it was never really that. It was just a quick casserole that my mother used to make. I would have to say that its closest kin is really baked spaghetti. I was probably in my late twenties before I ever had baked spaghetti, and marveled that I had never heard of such a simple dish.  I made this for one of my step daughters last night, and was reminded how much everyone loves it, so I thought I’d share. Just a forewarning that this is not a healthy or low-calorie dish, but could easily be adjusted by substituting. Ground turkey for the ground beef, a homemade sauce for a store-bought, cheese from skim milk, and wheat pasta. I have this recipe listed on LiveStrong with the ingredients that I use most often, and the calorie and nutrition info is there.

1 – 1.5 lbs Ground Chuck

32 – 48 oz Marinara Sauce

8 oz Small Pasta Shells

12 oz Shredded Cheese (Mozzarella/Provolone Blend)

Yields 1 – 9X13 casserole. Serves 8.

Pre-heat oven to 375. Brown the ground beef, add pasta sauce. Simultaneously, cook pasta shells according to package directions. Layer pasta and sauce in a 9 x 13 baking dish and top with cheese. Bake at 375 for 25 – 30 minutes.

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/recipes/my-baked-italian-casserole/#ixzz1mkniulCi

 
Happy Cooking 😀
 
Comments are closed.