Brownies!!

So today was particularly stressful at work, and I have taken it upon myself to make brownies from scratch. I was craving brownies at the end of the work day, but didn’t really want to make the trip to the store for mix. Then it hit me, although I haven’t done it in about 20 years, brownies from scratch are not all that difficult. I thought that I had all the correct ingredients, and so once arriving home, I “googled” a recipe (yes, I am still a diehard Google fan). After dinner I started the brownies. They are baking now, so we’ll see how they turn out. It seems that I am out of baking powder, and had to sub in baking soda (not always a good idea), but I have to admit chocolate is chocolate, so it can’t possibly be a disaster.

It is funny to think though, that something so easy and inexpensive to make from scratch is most often made from a box mix. I suppose a big issue is that so many of us are just too busy to think that we can bake from scratch. Moreover, I found that for many years, I didn’t keep up with the basic baking ingredients and rarely had even flour on hand. Since I did some baking for Christmas this time I did have most of the needed items. I have also been trying to do more whole foods cooking and less pre-packaged foods so I am keeping up more with the basics now.

Bake to baking, and maybe a little crochet too! 🙂

One response to “Brownies!!

  1. The brownies tasted wonderful!! I will get some baking powder though as the texture was a little off.