Character Development

Stupid Characters! Why do they insist on developing such distinct and recognizable personalities?

I sat down to write last night, for the first time in 2 weeks (I know, I’m a slacker), and the first thing I do is read back over the last few paragraphs to get me back into the right groove. Problem. My character is mocking me. Honestly, what was I thinking?

I wouldn’t do that. She tells me.

Why not?

Its just not something I would do. We’ve been through this before. I would need a pretty compelling reason to do something like that, its just not my style. Oh, and please don’t kill off any more of friends. I don’t really like it when you do that.

Laughter.

Its not funny.

No, I know. Well, its a little funny. I mean that your worried about it, you know I can’t kill off any more of your friends right now. 

Silence.

Okay, you’re right. You wouldn’t do that, but its central to the subplot. If you don’t do it you won’t be where I need you to be.

What do you mean “right now?”

What?

You said you can’t kill off any of my friends “right now.” What’s that supposed to mean?

I’m just saying…Well, we’ll cross that bridge when we get there.

Its not Lamorack, is it? You wouldn’t, would you?

Look, it doesn’t matter. I’m not planning on killing anyone right now, can we just move on? I’m not getting any work done here at all.

You can’t blame me. You don’t spend enough time with me.

Needless to say, I only managed about a page and a half last night. My character seems to be getting a little contrary. Although I did have a little laugh about it this morning. It reminded me of the ventriliquist, Jeff Dunham ( www.youtube.com/watch?v=47DT41m86N4 ), and quite honestly I think he’s hilarious…and now I get it.

Here’s to hoping that your writing is going better than mine. Or at least that your characters aren’t as inclined to argue with you. 🙂

Comments are closed.